Current Members


 Martin Z. Bazant (
 Edwin G. Roos (1944) Professor
 Department of Chemical Engineering and Department of Mathematics
 Massachusetts Institute of Technology


​Research Scientist

Juner Zhu (
(Mechanical Engineering, co-supervisor: Tom Wierzbicki) Safety-focused mechanical modeling of lithium-ion batteries


​Postdoctoral Associates

   Huada Lian (
(Chemical Engineering)  


Graduate Students

Emily Krucker-Velasquez (       
(Chemical Engineering) Charged soft matter under confinement
Daniel Markiewitz (

(Chemical Engineering) Developing and extending models of electrochemical systems Read More...

Yash Samantaray (
(Chemical Engineering) Studying acoustic methods for battery lifetime testing Read More...
Michael Li (
(Chemical Engineering) Developing mathematical models to understand battery degradation mechanisms, predict battery operational lifetimes, and construct battery design principles Read More...
Shakul Pathak (
(Chemical Engineering) Cathode microstructure and Ion/Electron Transfer Mechanisms in battery modeling Read More...
Xiaochen Du (
(Chemical Engineering & Computation) Seeks to combine informatics, machine learning, and automation to accelerate chemistry and materials research Read More...
Qiaohao (Harry) Liang (
(Materials Science & Engineering)  Physics-based and data-driven modeling of batteries in medical devices Read More...

Alex Cohen (
(Chemical Engineering & Computation) Learning physics from data with computational techniques
Debbie Zhuang (
(Chemical Engineering & Computation) Modeling temperature effects and degradation in nickel-rich cathodes
Huanhuan Tian (
(Chemical Engineering) Modeling of remediation of contaminated water using Shock Electrodialysis (SED)  Read More...
Mohammad Ayman Alkhadra (
(Chemical Engineering) Remediation of contaminated water using Shock Electrodialysis (SED)  Read More...
Pedro de Souza (
(Chemical Engineering) Microscopic physics of ion transport and electric double layer structure. Read More...
Surya Effendy (
(Chemical Engineering) Analysis of corrosion of carbon steel pipes using Impedance Spectroscopy


Spencer Delgado


Yu Han, Tsinghua University (2019)

Inge Bellemans, Ghent University (2018)

Aymar de Lichtevelde, Wageningen University & Research (2018)


Barbara Balkwill
Room: 66-458
Phone: (617) 258-7026


Group Photo (2017)

(From top to bottom, left to right in a row) Peng Bai, Raymond Smith, Joey Gu, Dimitrios Fraggedakis, Mohammad Mirzadeh, Kameron Conforti, Edwin Khoo, Tingtao Zhou, Amir Levy, Juhyun Song, Arash Sayyah, Fan He, Hongbo Zhao, Michael McEldrew, Laura Gilson, Pedro de Souza, Supratim Das, Yamini Krishnan and Martin Bazant.